Maori trusts

Maori trusts is a specialist area of law involving (i) trusts and incorporations subject to Parts 12 and 13 of Te Ture Whenua Maori Act 1993 and (ii) so-called Post Governance Settlement Entities.  Maori trusts also include ahu whenua trusts, which are the predominant commercial entity for Maori freehold land.  There are approximately 5,500 ahu whenua trusts managing an estimated 800,000 hectares of Maori freehold land. The Maori Land Court tends to be the primary jurisdiction for both establishing and managing Maori trusts, although it has concurrent jurisdiction with the District Court and High Court.  Our members are experienced in all aspects of Maori Trusts, from their establishment through to assisting with related disputes.

There are currently no insights that match this practice area.
There are current no resources for this practice area.