Thanks for your comment!
Oops! Something went wrong while submitting the form.





Bankside Chambers is delighted to welcome two new members.

Janette Campbell

Janette is well known in her specialty area of resource management law.  She comes to Bankside from Meredith Connell, where she headed up the Environment and Resource Management group for almost 8 years.  Prior to that Janette was a partner in boutique resource management firm Cowper Campbell.  

Janette is expert in all aspects of resource management law.  She has extensive practical experience in securing resource consents and designations for projects, including through the COVID-19 Recovery (Fast-track Consenting) process. She has decades of experience advocating for clients' interests in district and regional plan development from Northland to Southland and most points in between. She has acted for both prosecuting agencies and defendants in criminal prosecutions of environmental offending,  and is the author of the leading text on this subject.  Janette represents clients in resource management matters in front of Councils, Parliamentary Select Committees, the Environment Court, District Court, High Court and the Court of Appeal as well as in mediations and direct negotiation.

Janette is also a certified Commissioner, with a Chair’s endorsement, allowing her to be an independent decision maker on behalf of Councils under the RMA.  Janette is currently chairing an Expert Consenting Panel under the COVID-19 Recovery (Fast-track Consenting) Act 2020, considering an application for a significant retirement village in Waikanae.

Ben Prewett

Ben joins Bankside Chambers from Three Crowns, where he practiced international arbitration in Paris and London.  Previously he worked at Gilbert Walker in Auckland.

Ben has a wide-ranging practice in commercial litigation, international commercial arbitration and investment-treaty arbitration.  He has particular experience in disputes relating to energy, construction, insurance, mergers and acquisitions and shareholders’ agreements.”